SHoP Architects Knockoff: My App for Monitoring a Printer

6 Feb

I peeked in on a coworker looking at the website for SHoP Architects. He said had to research them for his Grad Arch Research Course. I told him I had something on them for him to look at and sent him a link to the Metropolis Magazine Article showing their iPhone App.

It got me thinking. I want to connect and monitor a printer from my iPhone. My app is nowhere near as cool as theirs. I haven’t seen theirs but just know it’s probably bad-assed. So here are 3 screenshots of my 5 minute app, then I will tell you how I did it.

 

 

 

 

 

All this app really does is link to the web interface for whichever printer you choose. Here is how to do it:

Download isite. This is a CSS library for your iphone webpage. Use Sencha or write your own if you want.

There is a sample webpage included. It is a series of <ul>. Each <ul> is a menu screen linking to the next. This ends with a final <div> which is where I put the control panel for the printer. I used an IFRAME. Look, let’s not get in to a discussion about IFRAMES. I don’t like them but it was a quick and dirty solution.

http://theIPaddressofyourprinter

To find the IP Address of your printer: Start –> Settings –> Printers and Faxes. Right click the printer, Properties, Ports, click Configure Port.

So here is my code. It is sloppy! I just made very quick modifications to the iSite file.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That is it. Just a quick and dirty connect to my printer app. To make it useful, you would want to list all the printers and devices in your office. But hope you get an idea of the kind of things you can do from your phone.

Oh, see this code: <link rel=”shortcut icon” href=”http://myaddress/isite/favicon.ico&#8221; />
<link rel=”apple-touch-icon” href=”http://myaddress/isite/favicon.ico”/&gt;

This means when you save the webpage on your phones desktop, my face will be the icon!

Leave a Reply

