Hacking the City with QR Codes

15 Feb

I got the idea to connect a QR Code to a camera. But I needed something interesting. How about when you scan the code you see a picture of yourself?

I found a live camera from the KOB TV channel in Albuquerque. I extracted the feed from their page and wrote my own website to display their feed.

I then connected the QR Code to my page. I printed the code and laminated it with tape. I went to the location that the camera watches and placed the code on a post.

When you scan the code, you are taken to a website showing you standing at the corner looking at the code! Here I am looking like a fool on my phone.

That is me standing on the corner. Here is the QR Code. It is much more fun if you are at the location.

NOTE: The camera moves during the day. The codes work until about 2:00.

5 Responses to “Hacking the City with QR Codes”

  1. Scott February 15, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    This is hilarious. Hacking the real world by hacking the digital world… priceless. And very meta.

    • paulcrickard February 15, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      I can’t believe they changed the position of their camera. It was looking at the plaza since Monday-at least that’s the first time I checked. I will place new codes and not tell them. I should get their other cameras too.

  2. seo services delhi ncr February 28, 2012 at 2:03 am #

    Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such wonderful info being shared freely out there.

  3. seo services February 28, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to �return the favor�.I am trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  4. Connie Dornon March 6, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    Keep up the excellent work, I read few articles on this web site and I believe that your blog is real interesting and has sets of superb information.

Leave a Reply

