The History of Albuquerque in QR Codes

22 Feb

So I had an idea where I would place QR Codes around Downtown Albuquerque. When you scan the code, you would see a photograph from between 1890 -1927 of the site you are standing on. I even used the New Mexico Centennial logo with my codes. I created a map, using leaflet.js, of where the six codes would be place (2 were placed at 1st and Central). The map is mobile capable and is at http://abq.educationalfacilityplanning.com.The popups show you what photo you would see when you scan the code.

In Albuquerque we have a group called the Downtown Action Team. They clean the City every morning and I must say they do a good job. There is not a single piece of paper attached to any posts in this city. This should have been a clue that my project was doomed to fail. My QR Codes were gone within 2 days.

Well, it was a nice try and a cool project. Here is a sample of my QR Codes – I would like to replace the middle of the code with a Zia in the future.

One Response to “The History of Albuquerque in QR Codes”

  1. Brian February 22, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Great Idea. It makes me wonder if in the future sites with have QR codes built into signs.

Leave a Reply

