Close but no Cigar? Let Me Answer That for You.

24 Feb

I see what search terms have led someone to my blog as well as what articles they have read. I am always wondering, “did they find what they needed?” I can tell from the search terms and the article that they may have got some information but that they probably needed something a little more specific or even something that is just a derivative of my example.

For example, a search term on “how to track quantities of an item with a QR Code” might lead someone to my article “Link a QR Code to a Database.”  The article explains using PHP _GET to query a database and that is all you need to know to accomplish your task, but did the reader have an AHA! moment and say to themselves “Ok, using _GET I will select the item from a database using its ID and retrieve the QUANTITY field and subtract 1, then update the value back to the database?

When I write these posts, I am being very general. There are so many use cases I wouldn’t even know where to begin. I hope that from each post, you are given enough information to apply the techniques to your problem.

I enjoying solving problems and posting tidbits on my blog. I want to help people and be able to see all the cool projects they are working on and what kinds of crazy ideas they have.

So, if you have a question that is somewhat relevant to one of my posts, ask me in the comments section. I will respond. Even if I do not know the answer, I will at least tell you as much, and hopefully at a minimum point you in the right direction.

I have stood on the shoulders of others. Everything I have learned started from reading something – be it the documentation of a program, or a blog, or a book. We share our knowledge and we all win.

One Response to “Close but no Cigar? Let Me Answer That for You.”

  1. gundam March 10, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    thanks.very good blog and very good share.

Leave a Reply

