It’s Not Revit, It’s You.

15 Mar

It has to be said: Revit is not the problem, YOU ARE!

Let me explain….

I sat down this morning to listen to a licensed architect ask how to find out wall areas in Revit. After hearing the answer, the architect asked for the drawings in CAD. Because using DOS and CAD – yes, DOS was actually used, I can’t even make that up – is faster and Revit is inefficient and doesn’t do the things it needs to do. How can it have so many tools and capabilities but none of them are relevant to our work.

I hear this way too often. Revit can’t do X. Or, AutoCAD is much faster at X than Revit. This is wrong! There is very little that you can’t do in Revit, you just don’t know how (let me say that for the work I am doing there is very little it doesn’t do). CAD is faster because you have been using it for 15 years. Trust me, when you get proficient in Revit,you will find many things much faster.  I offered to put a cost formula in the template that will calculate the costs of painting the walls. “But I don’t need to paint them all.” I know, but when the model is drawn for every future project those costs will be in the model. Just select the walls you want and you are done! How about stucco? Want me to add tile and carpet on the floors? No Problem.

Was my offer accepted? NO.

Did you know you can export it to AutoCAD – sorry, we don’t have DOS so you will have to use Windows. NO.

The architect printed out the floor plan and is calculating the area with a ruler!

 

 

2 Responses to “It’s Not Revit, It’s You.”

  1. Mathew Miller March 16, 2012 at 3:24 am #

    Paul
    great post, I feel you pain.
    Yesterday I put together a quick schematic package, in about 3 hours, which if I would have done it in Autocad, it would have taken about 10, and that from someone who had been running Autocad for 15 years.

  2. surelay March 23, 2012 at 5:15 am #

    I have been working with Revit since 2002 and I am using ONLY Revit since 2003. I refused A LOT of contracts. People get used to what they do BEST you have to respect that. When I meet someone who ask me to use Autocad or ADT, I walk away or draw the project by hand… You don’t have to down shift gears to accomodate people stuck on NEUTRAL. Now it is My way or the Highway pal that s IT. I might migrate to Vector Works this year tho, these guys ( Nemetschek ) are ALWAYS pushing it since they bought it. It way more Creative and Dynamic than Revit ( very static and dull ).

Leave a Reply

