OpenLayers and AutoCAD: OpenLayers.Layer.Image

20 Jun

I have wanted to get my own basemaps in to my web applications. I was looking at a TileServer but do not have the computer and setup to make it work. I started playing with OpenLayers because it allows you to import an image and use it as the base layer. I saw a tweet linking to a hand drawn, isometric, watercolor map of Reyjavik.

I was also playing around with importing AutoCAD in to Leaflet.js. Then I received a comment on a post that linked to FloorPlanMapper. Floorplanmapper uses AutoCAD in OpenLayers as an image like in the Reyjavik map.

So I decided to import a CAD file in OpenLayers and drop 2 points in to a room, then connect a popup to the points. This was my first attempt at OpenLayers and relied a lot on OpenLayers:PopUp Mayham.

Ideally, I would use polygons in the rooms but here is my AutoCAD and OpenLayers map:

OpenLayers is a mapping library that can be used to create applications that use CAD files as the base. Just another possibility and another reason to look cross discipline to deliver great services to your clients.

Here is my code: OpenLayerCAD

2 Responses to “OpenLayers and AutoCAD: OpenLayers.Layer.Image”

  1. Marcelo Pereira Rodrigues April 1, 2015 at 2:24 pm #

    Hello, friend.

    The link of your code is broked. Can you, please, fix it? I really need to understande how you could implement AutoCAD with OpenLayers.

    Thanks.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. OpenLayers and Revit « Architecture and Planning - July 16, 2012

    […] a previous post, I showed how OpenLayers could display Autocad Files. OpenLayers, using an Image Layer, can also […]

Leave a Reply

