Albuquerque Open Data

18 Mar

I have put together several posts on Albuquerque Open Data and have felt bad that the examples were not live. I shutdown my old website and tried to use JsBin for a few examples, but I was not consistent and couldn’t upload third party JavaScript files. Well, I found a solution.

GitHub Pages to the Rescue

I have a GitHub repo. A GitHub Repo is a place to put code where you can harness the full power of git – branching, committing and others can pull and push code to your repo. GitHub also has a thing called GitHub Pages where you can host sites. I have one. And I am now using it to host my presentations. I do not own Albuquerque Open Data, but the community does. The City puts the data out there for us to use. As a community member, I decided to create a GitHub repo for Albuquerque Data and a GitHub page for it. You can download the code for all the examples, or run them. You can also grab a copy and modify thm. Lastly, you can add your own code examples to the repo.

The Examples

There are only a few examples thus far.

  • Aerial – Zoom to a location in ABQ. Double click to get back an aerial image of the map window.
  • Crime – Click the map to see incidents near you.
  • Density
  • Elevation – Draw a line with lots of segments to see an elevation profile.
  • Game – Click the map to add a marker. Drag the marker to a park to win.

The Code for the Examples

You can get the code for each example by clicking the link.

  1. Aerial
  2. Crime
  3. Density
  4. Elevation
  5. Game

You can also grab the whole Repo as a ZIP file.

Leave a Reply

